The last years are very rich in its incidents, out of this point, the coming years will be the years of reviewing the actions taken, and that every man and woman of the people of Djibouti, who renewed their confidence in me shall have the right of reviewing the fact of the political, economic and social achievements that contributed in improving their living conditions. Also, the people of Djibouti have the right of criticizing and evaluating the Government policies which was performed in their name. These are the conditions of the democratic and institutional methodology adopted by our country.

Despite the economic progress, the challenging development and reforms being achieved, the Government should accept this accountability about the truth with open heart. Frankly speaking, we will not fall in the trap of the false demagogic and political slogans, or even just to sit down being dazzled with these achievements. Also, our success will not distract our attention from the works that are still waiting for us despite all the achievements which were realized in the field of growth and development during this decade in which the National Product was doubled than the previous period.

It is certain that our country became the magnate for many foreign investments, and that our social development policy, especially thru the national initiative programs of social development, is always keen to distribute the fruitful outcomes resulting from the economic development.

Despite of all this achievements, we will not forget the upsetting situations of unemployed young people or the mandatory duty for fighting thirst and hunger threatening our families. The same is the case of our intention to realize the gradual and integral progress of the decentralized policy. On the other hand, and despite the international situation which is suffering the frequent crises, and despite the maritime piracy and its potential consequences, our country is still continuing its quiet progress in the way of development.

I would not exaggerate if I said that all the realized success is attributed to all citizens and their insistence and will to live together in a country looking forward for realizing peace and development. So let’s work together for keeping the development’s torch glowing forever for lighting our future and that of our children.

过去的几年风云变幻,正是出于这一点,未来的几年必将对业已采取的措施予以回顾,吉布提每一个对我重燃信心的男人和女人都有权重新审视我们在政治、经济和社会上取得的成就,这些成就都旨在改善大家的生存条件。同时,对于以大家的名义施行的政府政策,吉布提的人们也拥有批评和评价的权利。而对于我们国家采取的民主和制度模式来说,这些都是它们存在的先决条件。

虽然经济取得了进步,虽然遇到挑战的发展和改革都达到了目标,政府仍然要以开放的心态承担这些与事实密不可分的责任。坦白地讲,我们不应深陷于虚假的煽动性和政治口号中,或者固步自封,为这些成就沾沾自喜。另外,在这十年中,尽管成长和发展领域中的目标都已经变成现实,国民产值比前期翻了一番,我们的成功绝不能把我们的视线从面临的诸多工作上转移开来。

当然,我们的国家对许多外国投资者来说魅力十足,我们的社会发展政策——特别是通过国家社会发展的初步计划——自始至终致力于让大家共享经济发展带来的累累硕果。

虽然取得了上述成就,我们不能忽视失业年轻人所处的艰难局势,不能忽视我们对威胁我们家庭的饥饿问题肩负的不可推卸的责任。职权下放的政策是一个渐进的过程并且在整体上取得了进步,在理解这个问题时,我们也面临着同样的情形。另一方面,尽管国际形势屡遭危机,尽管存在着海盗行为及其可能导致的后果,我们的国家仍然在发展的轨道上继续风平浪静地不断进步。

如果我说取得的所有成功都必须归因于全体国民以及他们伸出的援手,我希望大家共同生活在这个国家,期待和平和发展全都变成现实,我想我绝没有夸大其词。

让我们同舟共济,让发展的火炬永远光芒四射,照亮我们的未来和我们的子子孙孙。