Republic of Djibouti

Geography

The Republic of Djibouti, covering an area of ​​23,200 km2, is located in the Horn of Africa and shares borders with Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. It has a coastline of 370 km, which overlooks the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden.

Population

Djibouti's population is estimated to 818,159 inhabitants by 2009, more than two thirds live in Djibouti City, which is the capital of the country. The rate of population growth is very high (6%) with 3% of the contribution by the migratory. The official languages ​​are French and Arabic. Somali and Afar are the national languages. The majority (98%) of the population is Sunni Muslim religion. Young people under 20 years account for nearly 53% of the country's population.

History

The Horn of Africa has always been a cultural and trade crossroad between Africa and Asia, especially Saudi. The contacts with the populations from Saudi have intensified to the 7th century with the spread of Islam in the region and the establishment of Muslim kingdoms. The first lasting contacts with the Europeans dates from 1839. In 1862, local chiefs of the region signed treaties with the French who founded Djibouti in 1888, the current capital of the Republic of Djibouti. The territory became a colony under the name of French Somaliland then Afars and Issas of French Territory in 1967. After three decades of advocacy and protest led by the APLI (African People's League for Independence), the colonial power held a referendum May 8th 1977 where the majority of the territory's population voted for independence.

The country achieved independence on June 27th1977 under the name of Republic of Djibouti, and Hassan Gouled Aptidon was appointed as the first President of the country. A single party, the RPP (Rally for Progress) conducted the affairs of the country.

An armed rebellion broke out in 1991 in the north of the country. A new constitution which introduced a multiparty system in the Republic of Djibouti was passed in 1992. A peace agreement was signed in December 1994 between the government and the FRUD (Front for the Restoration of Unity and Democracy).

The presidential elections were held in May 1999, after which a new president, His Excellency Mr. Ismail Omar Guelleh was elected.

After one year of negotiations, the government and the anti-government forces of FRUD signed May 12th 2001 an agreement sealed permanent peace in the Republic of Djibouti.

Political organization

Djibouti is a presidential and pluralistic republic. The President of the Republic, who is also Head of Government, is elected by direct universal suffrage for 6 years, renewable once. He appoints various ministers on the proposal of the Prime Minister and may dismiss them. The Ministers are responsible for implementing the government policy. Legislative power is vested in the National Assembly which consists of a single chamber with 65 members elected by universal suffrage on a list for 5 years.

There is a mutual independence between the President and the National Assembly.

The President has no power to dissolve the assembly and the latter cannot, in turn, undermine the authority of the President.

Other institutions provided by the constitution are the Constitutional Council, the Supreme Council of the Judiciary, the High Court of Justice and the Ombudsman of the Republic.

Economy

The economy of Djibouti is mainly based on the tertiary activities, which account for almost 83% of Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Around the Port and the Djibouti-Ethiopian Railway developed banking, insurance and trade. The part of the Administration in GDP is also very important. It represents about 30% of GDP in 1998.

The primary and secondary sectors are underdeveloped. Their contributions to GDP amounted respectively to 4% and 13% in 1998. Breeding is the main activity in rural areas. The harsh climate and the lack of agricultural tradition hinders the development of this sector. However, fishing is a growing sector. This trend will increase with the recent inauguration of a fishing port and a training center for the profession of fishing.

The development of the secondary sector comes up against several obstacles,such as the scarcity of natural resources, the absence of skilled labor and the high costs of inputs.

After several years of recession, Djibouti is experiencing a positive nominal economic growth of around 1.3% in 1998 and 3% in 1999.

Regions

The Republic of Djibouti is divided into five administrative units called districts. The new government policy on decentralization has created the Regional Councils within the districts. The council members are chosen from residents of the districts and have a broad discretion in public management.

External Relations

The Republic of Djibouti is a member of the African Union (formerly OAU), the Arab League and IGAD. The country is also a member of the UN and most major international (World Bank, IMF, ADB, ACP, ...) and regional (COMESA, SIN-CED ...) organizations.



EMBLEM AND FLAG

The Constitution ofSeptember 15th, 1992

Title 1, State sovereignty

Article 1: The State of Djiboutiis a democratic republic, the sovereignty is integral and indivisible. It ensuresthe equality of allthe people before the law withoutdistinctionoflanguage, origin, race, sex orreligion.It respectsall beliefs.His motto is"Unity, Equality, Peace".Its principle isthe government of the people, by the people andfor the people.Itsofficial languages

Article 2: The capital of the stateisDjibouti.The emblem ofthe Republic is theblue, green, and white hitafive-pointed redstar flag.

Emblem

No.91/AN/00/4th Act of July 10th2000concerning the definitionof theSeal of the Republic

Article 1er: Le sceau de la République de Djibouti est représenté par une couronne de lauriers à l'intérieur de laquelle figurent un bouclier et une lance surmontée d'une étoile à cinq branches. Le bouclier et la lance sont entourés de part et d'autre par deux mains tenant chacune le poignard traditionnel djiboutien.

Article 1: The seal of the Republic of Djibouti is represented by a laurel wreath within which are a shield and a spear topped with a five-pointed star. The shield and spear are surrounded on both sides by two hands each holding a traditional dagger of Djibouti.

Article 2: The laurel wreath is representative of the peace recognized by people of Djibouti after his victory in the independence June 27th 1977. Shield, lance and star symbolize the defense of national sovereignty and integrity of the territory. Both traditional daggers held by two hands symbolize the culture and traditions of the people as the foundation of National Solidarity.

Hymne

TELECHARGER

L'HYMNE NATIONAL

吉布提共和国

地理位置

吉布提共和国,面积23200平方公里,位于非洲之角亚丁湾西岸,扼红海进入印度洋的要冲,北毗邻厄立特里亚,西部毗邻埃塞俄比亚,东南与索马里接壤,海岸线全长370公里。

人口

2009年吉布提人口估计达818,159人,三分之二以上生活在该国首都吉布提市。人口的增长速度很快(6%),其中3%来自移民。绝大部分(98%)居民为逊尼派穆斯林。 20岁以下青年占全国人口的近53%。官方语言为法语和阿拉伯语,索马里语和阿法尔语为民族语言。

历史

非洲之角一直是非洲和亚洲尤其是阿拉伯世界之间的一个文化和贸易枢纽。与阿拉伯世界人民的联系自公元7世纪伴随该地区穆斯林王国的建立与伊斯兰教的传播得到加强。与欧洲的持续接触可追溯到1839年。1862年,当地酋长与法国人签署条约,后者于1888年建立吉布提城,即吉布提共和国现在的首都。自此,吉布提城成为法国殖民地法属索马里的首府,随后于1967年易名法属阿法尔和伊萨领地。经过非洲人民独立联盟近三十年的反抗与努力,1977年5月8日殖民政权组织公投,领土居民多数投票赞成独立。

1977年6月27日国家宣告独立,定国名为吉布提共和国,哈桑·古莱德·阿普蒂敦(Hassan Gouled Aptidon)当选为首任共和国总统。争取进步人民联盟(Rassemblement Populaire pour le Progrès-RPP)成为执政党。

1991年该国北部爆发武装叛乱。1992年吉布提共和国通过公投推行多党制新宪法。政府与争取恢复团结和民主阵线(Front pour la restauration de l'unité et de la démocratie-FRUD)于1994年12月签署和平协议。

1999年5月举行的总统选举之后,伊斯梅尔·奥马尔·盖莱(Ismail Omar Guelleh)先生阁下当选新一任共和国总统。

经过一年多的谈判,政府于2001年5月12日与争取恢复团结民族阵线反政府武装签署和平协议,实现了吉布提共和国的最终和平。

政体

吉布提为总统内阁制共和国。共和国总统兼政府首脑,由直接普选产生,任期六年,可连任一次。其可根据总理的建议对各部长进行任免。部长负责执行政府的政策。国民议会为国家最高权力机构。议员由普选产生,任期5年,共65名。

根据总理的建议对各部长进行任免。部长负责执行政府的政策。国民议会为国家最高权力机构。议员由普选产生,任期5年,共65名。

总统和国民议会相互独立。因此,总统无权解散国民议会,后者也不能削弱总统的权力。

宪法所规定的其他机构包括宪法委员会,最高司法委员会,最高法院及申诉专员。

经济

吉布提的经济基础主要是第三产业,几乎占国内生产总值的83%。港口和吉布提-埃塞俄比亚铁路周边银行业,保险业和商业发达。当局在国内生产总值中占据重要部分,1998年占国内生产总值的30%左右。

第一和第二产业都不发达。其1998年的贡献分别占国内生产总值4%和13%。渔牧业为农村地区主要活动。恶劣的气候和农业技术的缺乏阻碍了这个行业的发展。然而,捕鱼业持续发展。这种趋势将伴随新新的渔港以及渔业培训中心的建立而增强。

第二产业的发展面临着几个方面的障碍,即自然资源的稀缺,技术熟练的劳动力的稀缺和成本投入高。

经过几年的经济衰退,吉布提经济增长开始显现,1998年为1.3%,1999年为3%。

政区

吉布提共和国分为五个行政区。政府新实行权力下放政策,在行政区内建立区域市政局。市政局成员自行政区居民中选出,具有广泛的公共管理裁量权。

对外关系

吉布提共和国是非洲联盟(前身为非洲统一组织)、阿拉伯国家联盟和东非政府间发展组织的成员。该国也是联合国和大多数主要国际组织(世界银行,国际货币基金组织,非洲开发银行,非洲、加勒比和太平洋地区国家集团,...)和区域(东南非共同市场,萨赫勒-撒哈拉国家共同体)的成员。



徽记和旗帜

1992年9月15日宪法

第一章国家主权

第一条:吉布提国家为民主共和国,主权完整不可分割。保证人民不分语言、血统、种族、性别或宗教,在法律面前平等。尊重一切信仰。

座右铭是“团结,平等,和平”。宗旨是政权来自人民,由人民选举产生,为人民服务。官方语言为阿拉伯语和法语。

国旗

第2条:国家首都为吉布提城。共和国国旗由蓝色、绿色和一带有红五星的白色组成。

国徽

2000年7月10日91/AN/00/4号法令对共和国国徽的定义

第1条:吉布提共和国国徽由月桂环饰和内部上端的五角星,中央的矛和盾,及其两侧的巨手各握一把吉布提传统利刀构成。

第2条:月桂环饰象征1977年6月27日宣告独立后吉布提人民的和平。盾,矛和星象征捍卫国家主权和领土完整。巨手握的两把吉布提传统利刀,象征民族团结为基础的文化和传统。

Hymne

TELECHARGER

L'HYMNE NATIONAL