DJIBOUTI-CHINA BILATERAL RELATIONS

1. Political Relations

The Republic of Djibouti and the People’s Republic of China signed the communique for establishing the diplomatic relations on January 8th 1979.

The bilateral relations between the two countries progresses steadily and continuously, the friendly cooperation between China and Djibouti is developing in fortunate conditions and proves fruitful in various fields since the establishment of diplomatic relations on January 8th 1979.

Closely linked to the political level, the two countries have maintained exchanges of high level visits and frequent personal contacts. The two countries provide support and mutual assistance in the international affairs, forging a deep friendship and fruitful cooperation based on the principle of win-win for the greatest benefit of their peoples. The Republic of Djibouti adheres always to the principle of one China and supports the peaceful reunification of China.

Djibouti provides assistance and facilities to the Chinese Navy during its escort missions on the Gulf of Aden and Somali waters.


Bilateral visits of eminent personalities :

Important visits by Chinese officials to Djibouti are: Deputy Prime Minister Ji Pengfei (September 1980), Minister of Urban and Rural Construction Rui Xingwen (March 1985), Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Yang Fuchang (August 1990),Minister of Sports Wu Shaozu (June 1993), Deputy Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) Wang Zhaoguo (May 1994), Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Qian Qichen (January 1996), Deputy Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation Yang Wensheng (1998), Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Ji Peiding (February 1999), Political Commissar of the Beijing Military Region Du Tiehuan (June 2002), Deputy Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress Xu Jialu (June 2006),Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Qiao Zonghuai(December 2002), Minister of Foreign Affairs Li Zhaoxing (January 2004) and Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Zhai Jun (2009).

His Excellency Hassan Gouled Aptidon, First President of the Republic of Djibouti has visited China many times (December 1979, March 1991, July 1994 and August 1998). His Excellency Mr. Ismail Omar Guelleh, President of the Republic has made ​​two official visits to China in 2001 and in July 2012 on the sidelines of the 5th Ministerial Conference of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation(FOCAC). This visit marks the commitment of both countries to raise their relationship to a Strategic Partnership. Also note that President Guelleh had attended the Beijing Summit of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation in November 2006.

To this end, the two countries signed an agreement in July 2012 for establishing the Joint Ministerial Commission to expand and deepen the economic and trade cooperation.

Former Prime Minister His Excellency Barkat Gourad Hamadou has made ​​an official visit in May 1999 and Prime Minister His Excellency Dileita Mohamed Dileita made ​​an official visit in 2005. He also attended the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympic Games in August 2008.

The President of the National Assembly and Chief of General Staff Mr. Fathi Ahmed Housseinhas also made ​​official visits to China in February and July 2005.

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs His Excellency Mr. Ali Abdi Farah visited China in 2003 and the current Minister of Foreign Affairs His Excellency Mahmoud Ali Youssouf has meanwhile made ​​an official visit to China in December 2009.

Finally, the President of the National Assembly His Excellency Idriss Arnoud Ali visited China in July 2010 in his capacity as Secretary General of the RPP.

Many other Djiboutian Senior Officials have also made working visits to China in recent years such as the Minister of Health, the Minister of Education, the Minister of Employment, the Minister of Internal Affairs, the Minister of Economy and Finance, the Minister of Commerce,the Minister of Communication and Culture, the Minister of Youth and Sports ... etc..

In December 2012, the new Ambassador of the Republic of Djibouti in China, His Excellency Abdallah Abdillahi Miguil presented his Letters of Credence to President Hu Jintao.


2. Commercial Relations and Economic and Technological Cooperation

On the economic and commercial level, the two countries have signed agreements on economic and technical cooperation and trade arrangements. China has provided economic assistance to Djibouti since 1979 and has completed many construction projects such as the People’s Palace, the bronze monument of the Unknown Soldier, the Stadium Hassan Gouled, the Administration Building DFAIT, the new building of the CERD, the Diplomatic Institute, the Institute of DjiboutianArts, two sports complexes located in Tadjourah and Dikhil, the new hospital of Arta, two rural primary schools located respectively in Holl-Holl and Yoboki, the dialysis room of the Peltier General Hospital, etc..

In 2009, the volume of trade between the two countries reached 197 million US dollars, representing an increase of 55% over the same period of the previous year. The Chinese products exported to Djibouti are predominantly heavy equipment (port equipments, cranes), mechanical equipments, such as the production line for mineral water installed in Tadjoura, construction materials, automobiles, air conditioners and appliances.

In addition, more and more Djiboutian business men engage in trade with China. Many of them go to China each year to participate in Guangzhou fairs or other exhibitions and sales.

In the telecommunications sector, the governments of China and Djibouti signed a preferential loan in 2001 for a project of development of Djibouticommunications network with the cooperation between a Chinese company ZTE and Djibouti Telecom. Another Chinese company Huawei is also active on the market since 2005 to establish a mobile telecommunications network with the same partner Djibouti Telecom


3. Exchanges and Cooperation in Culture, Education and Health

China and Djibouti have led a friendly cooperation in the fields of culture, education and health. Since 1986, China started to provide scholarships for Djiboutian students. Currently, there are about 70 Djiboutian students of scholarship and approximately 200 private students studying in China.

In 2010, the Republic of Djibouti has participated actively in Shanghai World Expo by sending an important delegation headed by the Minister of Youth and Sports accompanied by an art troupe of nearly 30 persons who conducted the Djibouti Pavilion and the Africa Pavilion for 3 weeks.

Moreover, China began to send medical teams to Djibouti since 1980. At the moment, a Chinese medical team of 10 persons work in Djibouti and Arta.

Finally, due to the severe drought and the humanitarian crisis which has affected the region of the Horn of Africa in 2011, China has granted urgent humanitarian assistance of a total of 61 million yuans RMB.


4. Important Documents

Since May 1999, the two countries have signed over fifty most bilateral agreements relating to the implementation of social-economic projects. Each year, the two countries carry out for signature of a number of agreements or exchange of notes on economic cooperation and technical assistance.

  •  Joint communique on the establishment of the diplomatic relations between the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of Djibouti (January 1979).

  •  Agreement concerning the establishment of a mechanism for political consultations signed in China (August 2003)

  •  Agreement for reciprocal exemption of taxof a number of products on the markets of the two countries (2003)

  •     Agreement concerning the establishment of aneconomic and trade consultation mechanism between the two Ministries of Foreign Affairs (2006)

  •     Agreement on preferential tariffs between the two countries (2007)

  •  Agreement for establishing the Joint Ministerial Commission to expand and deepen the economic and trade cooperation (July 2012)

吉布提-中国双边关系

1. 政治关系

1979年1月8日吉布提共和国与中华人民共和国签署公报,建立外交关系。

两国之间的双边关系持续稳定友好,合作关系稳步发展,自1979年1月8日建交以来在国际事务中相互支持与配合。

建交以来,两国政治关系密切,高层交往不断,人员往来频繁。双方平等相待,结下了深厚友谊。在国际事务中相互支持与配合。吉布提共和国始终坚持一个中国的原则,支持中国人民的统一大业。 吉布提为在亚丁湾和索马里海域执行护航任务的中国海军提供援助和便利。 双边领导人互访:

中方对吉的重要访问有:国务院副总理姬鹏飞(1980年9月)、城乡建设部长芮杏文(1985年3月)、外交部副部长杨福昌(1990年8月)、国家体委主任伍绍祖(1993年6月)、全国政协副主席王兆国(1994年5月)、国务院副总理兼外交部长钱其琛(1996年1月)、外经贸部部长助理杨文生(1998年)、外交部副部长吉佩定(1999年2月)、北京军区政委杜铁环上将(2002年6月)、全国人大常委会副委员长许嘉璐(2002年6月)、外交部部领导成员乔宗淮(2002年12月)、外交部长李肇星(2004年1月)以及外交部副部长翟隽(2009年)。

吉布提共和国的第一任总统哈桑·古莱德·阿普蒂敦先生阁下曾多次访问中国(1979年12月、1991年3月、1994年7月、1998年8月),总统伊斯梅尔·奥马尔·盖莱先生阁下先后于2001年和2012年7月两次对中国进行正式访问并参加了2012年7月举行的中国-非洲合作论坛第五届部长级会议,这次访问标志着两国战略伙伴关系的确立。此外,盖莱总统出席了2006年11月的中非合作论坛北京峰会。

为此,两国于2012年7月签署协议,成立部长级联合委员会,以进一步扩大和深化经贸合作。 前总理古拉德·哈马杜·巴尔卡特阁下于1999年5月对中国进行正式访问,现任总理穆罕默德·迪莱塔·迪莱塔阁下于2005年对中国进行了正式访问。 2008年8月,他还参加了北京奥运会开幕式。 国民议会主席及军队总参谋长法蒂也于2005年于2月和7月对中国进行了正式访问。

前外交部长阿里·阿布迪·法拉赫先生阁下于2003年访问中国,现任外交部长马哈茂德·阿里·优素福阁下于2009年12月对中国进行了正式访问。

最后,国民议会的总统伊德里斯·阿尔努·阿里阁下于2010年7月以争取进步人民联盟秘书长身份访问了中国。

吉布提许多其他高级官员如卫生部长,教育部长,就业部长,内政部长,经济和财政部长,商务部长,通讯和文化部长,青年和体育部部长等近年来也到中国进行了工作访问。

2012年12月,新任吉布提共和国驻中国大使,阿卜杜拉·阿卜迪拉赫·米吉勒阁下向国家主席胡锦涛致国书。


2.双边经贸关系和经济技术合作

在经济和贸易方面,两国签署了经济技术合作协定和贸易协定。自1979年以来,中国已向吉布提提供各种经济援助,为吉援建了诸如人民宫、无名战士铜像纪念碑、哈桑·古莱德体育场、外交和国际贸易管理局行政大楼、消除种族歧视委员会的新大楼、外交学院、吉布提艺术学院、位于塔朱拉(Tadjourah)和迪基勒(Dikhil)的两个体育场馆、阿尔塔新医院、位于霍尔霍尔(Holl-Holl)和耀博凯(Yoboki)的两所农村小学以及珀耳帖总医院透析室等项目。

2009年,两国之间贸易额达到1.97亿美元,较上一年度同期增加了55%。中国向吉布提出口的产品主要是重型机械(港口设备,起重机),如建在塔朱拉(Tadjourah)的矿泉水生产线的成套机械设备,建材,汽车,空调和家电。

同时,越来越多的吉布提商人开始同中国做生意。其中许多人每年到中国参加广州交易会或其他展销会。

在电信领域,两国政府于2001年为中国公司中兴通讯和吉布提电信公司合作开发的吉布提网络通信开发项目签署了优惠贷款协议。另一家中国公司华为自2005年以来也为同一合作伙伴吉布提电信公司建设移动通信网络。


3.文化、教育、卫生等方面的交往与合作

中国和吉布提在文化、教育、卫生等领域开展了亲密友好的合作。自1986年以来,中国开始为吉布提留学生提供奖学金。目前,有大约70名吉布提奖学金生和200名因私留学生在中国学习。

吉布提积极参与了2010年上海世博会。青年和体育部长率领一个庞大的代表团参加了此次盛事,一个近30人的文工团在吉布提馆和非洲馆进行了为期3周的表演。

此外,中国自1980年开始向吉布提派遣医疗队。目前,一支由10人组成的中国医疗队在吉布提城(Djibouti)和阿尔塔(Arta)为当地的卫生事业贡献力量。

2011年,干旱和人道主义危机波及和影响到非洲之角地区,中国为其提供了6100万元人民币的紧急人道主义援助。

4.重要双边协议及文件

自1999年5月起,两国签署了超过50份有关社会经济项目实施的双边协议。每年两国都会签署一系列经济合作和技术援助的协议或照会。

《关于中华人民共和国和吉布提共和国建立外交关系的联合公报》(1979年1月签署)

《中华人民共和国外交部和吉布提共和国外交和国际合作部关于建立政治磋商机制的协议》(2003年8月签署)

《两国市场一些产品税收互免协议》(2003年签署)

《建立两国外交部间经贸磋商机制的协议》(2006年签署)

《两国间关税优惠协定》(2007年签署)

《为进一步扩大和深化双边经济贸易合作而设立部长级联合委员会的协定》(2012年7月签署)