Republic of Djibouti

Geography

The Republic of Djibouti, covering an area of ​​23,200 km2, is located in the Horn of Africa and shares borders with Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. It has a coastline of 370 km, which overlooks the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden.

Population

Djibouti's population is estimated to 818,159 inhabitants by 2009, more than two thirds live in Djibouti City, which is the capital of the country. The rate of population growth is very high (6%) with 3% of the contribution by the migratory. The official languages ​​are French and Arabic. Somali and Afar are the national languages. The majority (98%) of the population is Sunni Muslim religion. Young people under 20 years account for nearly 53% of the country's population.

History

The Horn of Africa has always been a cultural and trade crossroad between Africa and Asia, especially Saudi. The contacts with the populations from Saudi have intensified to the 7th century with the spread of Islam in the region and the establishment of Muslim kingdoms. The first lasting contacts with the Europeans dates from 1839. In 1862, local chiefs of the region signed treaties with the French who founded Djibouti in 1888, the current capital of the Republic of Djibouti. The territory became a colony under the name of French Somaliland then Afars and Issas of French Territory in 1967. After three decades of advocacy and protest led by the APLI (African People's League for Independence), the colonial power held a referendum May 8th 1977 where the majority of the territory's population voted for independence.

The country achieved independence on June 27th1977 under the name of Republic of Djibouti, and Hassan Gouled Aptidon was appointed as the first President of the country. A single party, the RPP (Rally for Progress) conducted the affairs of the country.

An armed rebellion broke out in 1991 in the north of the country. A new constitution which introduced a multiparty system in the Republic of Djibouti was passed in 1992. A peace agreement was signed in December 1994 between the government and the FRUD (Front for the Restoration of Unity and Democracy).

The presidential elections were held in May 1999, after which a new president, His Excellency Mr. Ismail Omar Guelleh was elected.

After one year of negotiations, the government and the anti-government forces of FRUD signed May 12th 2001 an agreement sealed permanent peace in the Republic of Djibouti.

Political organization

Djibouti is a presidential and pluralistic republic. The President of the Republic, who is also Head of Government, is elected by direct universal suffrage for 6 years, renewable once. He appoints various ministers on the proposal of the Prime Minister and may dismiss them. The Ministers are responsible for implementing the government policy. Legislative power is vested in the National Assembly which consists of a single chamber with 65 members elected by universal suffrage on a list for 5 years.

There is a mutual independence between the President and the National Assembly.

The President has no power to dissolve the assembly and the latter cannot, in turn, undermine the authority of the President.

Other institutions provided by the constitution are the Constitutional Council, the Supreme Council of the Judiciary, the High Court of Justice and the Ombudsman of the Republic.

Economy

The economy of Djibouti is mainly based on the tertiary activities, which account for almost 83% of Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Around the Port and the Djibouti-Ethiopian Railway developed banking, insurance and trade. The part of the Administration in GDP is also very important. It represents about 30% of GDP in 1998.

The primary and secondary sectors are underdeveloped. Their contributions to GDP amounted respectively to 4% and 13% in 1998. Breeding is the main activity in rural areas. The harsh climate and the lack of agricultural tradition hinders the development of this sector. However, fishing is a growing sector. This trend will increase with the recent inauguration of a fishing port and a training center for the profession of fishing.

The development of the secondary sector comes up against several obstacles,such as the scarcity of natural resources, the absence of skilled labor and the high costs of inputs.

After several years of recession, Djibouti is experiencing a positive nominal economic growth of around 1.3% in 1998 and 3% in 1999.

Regions

The Republic of Djibouti is divided into five administrative units called districts. The new government policy on decentralization has created the Regional Councils within the districts. The council members are chosen from residents of the districts and have a broad discretion in public management.

External Relations

The Republic of Djibouti is a member of the African Union (formerly OAU), the Arab League and IGAD. The country is also a member of the UN and most major international (World Bank, IMF, ADB, ACP, ...) and regional (COMESA, SIN-CED ...) organizations.



EMBLEM AND FLAG

The Constitution ofSeptember 15th, 1992

Title 1, State sovereignty

Article 1: The State of Djiboutiis a democratic republic, the sovereignty is integral and indivisible. It ensuresthe equality of allthe people before the law withoutdistinctionoflanguage, origin, race, sex orreligion.It respectsall beliefs.His motto is"Unity, Equality, Peace".Its principle isthe government of the people, by the people andfor the people.Itsofficial languages

Article 2: The capital of the stateisDjibouti.The emblem ofthe Republic is theblue, green, and white hitafive-pointed redstar flag.

Emblem

No.91/AN/00/4th Act of July 10th2000concerning the definitionof theSeal of the Republic

Article 1er: Le sceau de la République de Djibouti est représenté par une couronne de lauriers à l'intérieur de laquelle figurent un bouclier et une lance surmontée d'une étoile à cinq branches. Le bouclier et la lance sont entourés de part et d'autre par deux mains tenant chacune le poignard traditionnel djiboutien.

Article 1: The seal of the Republic of Djibouti is represented by a laurel wreath within which are a shield and a spear topped with a five-pointed star. The shield and spear are surrounded on both sides by two hands each holding a traditional dagger of Djibouti.

Article 2: The laurel wreath is representative of the peace recognized by people of Djibouti after his victory in the independence June 27th 1977. Shield, lance and star symbolize the defense of national sovereignty and integrity of the territory. Both traditional daggers held by two hands symbolize the culture and traditions of the people as the foundation of National Solidarity.

Hymne

TELECHARGER

L'HYMNE NATIONAL

DONNEES GENERALES

Géographie

La République de Djibouti, dotée d'une superficie de 23.200 km2, est située dans la Corne de l'Afrique et partage des frontières avec l'Érythrée au Nord, l'Éthiopie à l'Ouest et au Sud et avec la Somalie au Sud - Est. Elle possède une façade maritime longue de 370 km qui donne sur la Mer Rouge et le Golfe d'Aden.

Population

La population de Djibouti est estimée en 2009 à 818,159 habitants dont plus de deux tiers vit dans Djibouti-ville, la capitale du pays. Le taux d'accroissement de la population est très élevé (6%) dont 3% du au flux migratoire. Les langues officielles du pays sont le français et l'arabe. Le somali et l'afar sont les langues nationales. La majorité de la population (98%) est de religion musulmane de rite sunnite. Les jeunes de moins de 20 ans représentent près de 53% de la population du pays.

Histoire

La Corne de l'Afrique a toujours été un carrefour culturel et commercial entre l'Afrique et l'Asie et en particulier l'Arabie. Les contacts avec les populations de l'Arabie se sont intensifiés au 7ème siècle avec la propagation de l'islam dans cette région et la constitution de royaumes musulmans. Les premiers contacts durables avec les européens datent de 1839. En 1862, les chefs locaux de la contrée signèrent des traités avec les français qui fondèrent en 1888 Djibouti, l'actuelle capitale de la République de Djibouti. Le territoire devient une colonie sous le nom de Côte Française des Somalis puis Territoire Français des Afars et des Issas en 1967.Après trois décennies de revendication et de contestation animée par la LPAI (Ligue Populaire Africaine pour l'Indépendance), la puissance coloniale organisa un référendum le 8 mai 1977 où la majorité de la population du territoire vota pour l'indépendance.

Le pays accéda à l'indépendance le 27 juin 1977 sous le nom de République de Djibouti et Hassan Gouled Aptidon fut désigné comme premier Président du pays. Un parti unique, le RPP (Rassemblement Pour le Progrès) dirigea les affaires du pays.

Une rébellion armée se déclencha en 1991 dans le nord du pays. Une nouvelle constitution qui introduit le multipartisme en République de Djibouti a été voté en 1992. Un accord de paix fut conclu en décembre 1994 entre le gouvernement et le FRUD (Front pour la Restauration de l'Unité et de la Démocratie).

Des élections présidentielles se sont déroulées en mai 1999 à l'issue desquelles un nouveau président de la République, Son Excellence Monsieur Ismail Omar Guelleh fût élu.

Au bout d'une année de négociations , le gouvernement et la fraction du FRUD - armé ont signé le 12 mai 2001 un accord qui scelle définitivement la paix en République de Djibouti.

Organisation politique

Djibouti est une république de type présidentiel et pluraliste. Le Président de la République qui est aussi chef du gouvernement, est élu au suffrage universel direct pour 6 ans renouvelable une seule fois. Il nomme les différents ministres sur proposition du premier Ministre et peut les révoquer. Les Ministres sont chargés de mettre en oeuvre la politique du gouvernement. Le pouvoir législatif revient à l'Assemblée Nationale constituée d'une chambre unique avec 65 députés élus au suffrage universel sur une liste pour 5 ans.

Il y a une indépendance réciproque du Président de la République et de l'Assemblée Nationale.

Le Président ne dispose donc pas du pouvoir de prononcer la dissolution de l'assemblée et celle - ci ne peut, de son côté, mettre en cause la responsabilité du Président.

Les autres institutions prévues par la constitution sont le Conseil Constitutionnel, le Conseil Supérieur de la Magistrature, la Haute Cour de Justice et le Médiateur de la République.

Economie

L'économie de Djibouti repose essentiellement sur les activités tertiaires qui assurent près de 83% du Produit Intérieur Brut. Autour du Port ainsi que du Chemin de fer Djibouto-Ethiopien, se sont développés les activités bancaires ,les assurances et le commerce. La part de l'Administration dans la formation du PIB reste également très importante. Elle représente environ 30% du PIB en 1998.

Les secteurs primaire et secondaire sont très peu développés. Leurs contributions au PIB s'élèvent respectivement à 4% et 13% en 1998. L'élevage est l'activité principale dans le milieu rural. La rigueur du climat et l'absence de tradition agricole freine le développement de ce secteur. Toutefois la pêche reste un secteur en croissance. Cette tendance va s'accentuer avec l'inauguration récente d'un port de pêche et d'un centre de formation sur le métier de la pêche.

Le développement du secteur secondaire se heurte à plusieurs obstacles à savoir la rareté des ressources naturelles, l'absence de main d'œuvre qualifiée et des coûts élevés des facteurs de production .

Après plusieurs années de récession, Djibouti connaît une croissance économique nominale positive de l'ordre de 1,3% en 1998 et de 3% en 1999.

Régions

La République de Djibouti est divisée en 5 circonscriptions administratives appelées districts. La nouvelle politique du gouvernement en matière de décentralisation a créé de Conseils Régionaux aux sein des districts. Les membres de ces conseils sont choisis parmi les résidents des districts et disposent d'un large pouvoir en matière de gestion publique.

Relations Extérieures

La République de Djibouti est membre de l'Union Africaine (ex OUA), de la Ligue Arabe et de l'IGAD. Le pays est également membre de l'ONU et de la plupart des grandes organisations internationales (Banque Mondiale, FMI, BAD, Groupe ACP, …) et régionales (COMESA, SIN-CED, …).



EMBLEMES ET DRAPEAU

La Constitution du 15 septembre 1992

Titre 1 de l'état de souveraineté

Article 1er: L'État de Djibouti est une République démocratique, souveraine. Une et indivisible.
Il assure à tous l'égalité devant la loi sans distinction de langue, d'origine, de race, de sexe ou de religion. Il respecte toutes les croyances.
Sa devise est "Unité-Egalité-Paix".
Son principe est le gouvernement du peuple, par le peuple et pour le peuple.
 Ses langues officielles sont: l'arabe et le français.

Drapeau

Article 2nd: La capitale de l'État est Djibouti. L'emblème de la République est le drapeau bleu, vert, blanc frappé d'une étoile rouge à cinq branches.

Emblème

Loi n° 91/AN/00/4ème L du 10 juillet 2000 portant définition du sceau de la République

Article 1er: Le sceau de la République de Djibouti est représenté par une couronne de lauriers à l'intérieur de laquelle figurent un bouclier et une lance surmontée d'une étoile à cinq branches. Le bouclier et la lance sont entourés de part et d'autre par deux mains tenant chacune le poignard traditionnel djiboutien.

Article 2nd: La couronne de lauriers est représentative de la paix reconnue au peuple djiboutien après sa victoire lors de l'accession à l'indépendance le 27 juin 1977. Le bouclier, la lance et l'étoile symbolisent la défense de la souveraineté nationale et de l'intégrité du Territoire. Les deux poignards traditionnels tenus par deux mains symbolisent la culture et les traditions du peuple comme fondement de la Solidarité Nationale.

Hymne

TELECHARGER

L'HYMNE NATIONAL