DJIBOUTI-CHINA BILATERAL RELATIONS

1. Political Relations

The Republic of Djibouti and the People’s Republic of China signed the communique for establishing the diplomatic relations on January 8th 1979.

The bilateral relations between the two countries progresses steadily and continuously, the friendly cooperation between China and Djibouti is developing in fortunate conditions and proves fruitful in various fields since the establishment of diplomatic relations on January 8th 1979.

Closely linked to the political level, the two countries have maintained exchanges of high level visits and frequent personal contacts. The two countries provide support and mutual assistance in the international affairs, forging a deep friendship and fruitful cooperation based on the principle of win-win for the greatest benefit of their peoples. The Republic of Djibouti adheres always to the principle of one China and supports the peaceful reunification of China.

Djibouti provides assistance and facilities to the Chinese Navy during its escort missions on the Gulf of Aden and Somali waters.


Bilateral visits of eminent personalities :

Important visits by Chinese officials to Djibouti are: Deputy Prime Minister Ji Pengfei (September 1980), Minister of Urban and Rural Construction Rui Xingwen (March 1985), Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Yang Fuchang (August 1990),Minister of Sports Wu Shaozu (June 1993), Deputy Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) Wang Zhaoguo (May 1994), Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Qian Qichen (January 1996), Deputy Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation Yang Wensheng (1998), Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Ji Peiding (February 1999), Political Commissar of the Beijing Military Region Du Tiehuan (June 2002), Deputy Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress Xu Jialu (June 2006),Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Qiao Zonghuai(December 2002), Minister of Foreign Affairs Li Zhaoxing (January 2004) and Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs Zhai Jun (2009).

His Excellency Hassan Gouled Aptidon, First President of the Republic of Djibouti has visited China many times (December 1979, March 1991, July 1994 and August 1998). His Excellency Mr. Ismail Omar Guelleh, President of the Republic has made ​​two official visits to China in 2001 and in July 2012 on the sidelines of the 5th Ministerial Conference of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation(FOCAC). This visit marks the commitment of both countries to raise their relationship to a Strategic Partnership. Also note that President Guelleh had attended the Beijing Summit of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation in November 2006.

To this end, the two countries signed an agreement in July 2012 for establishing the Joint Ministerial Commission to expand and deepen the economic and trade cooperation.

Former Prime Minister His Excellency Barkat Gourad Hamadou has made ​​an official visit in May 1999 and Prime Minister His Excellency Dileita Mohamed Dileita made ​​an official visit in 2005. He also attended the opening ceremony of the Beijing Olympic Games in August 2008.

The President of the National Assembly and Chief of General Staff Mr. Fathi Ahmed Housseinhas also made ​​official visits to China in February and July 2005.

Former Minister of Foreign Affairs His Excellency Mr. Ali Abdi Farah visited China in 2003 and the current Minister of Foreign Affairs His Excellency Mahmoud Ali Youssouf has meanwhile made ​​an official visit to China in December 2009.

Finally, the President of the National Assembly His Excellency Idriss Arnoud Ali visited China in July 2010 in his capacity as Secretary General of the RPP.

Many other Djiboutian Senior Officials have also made working visits to China in recent years such as the Minister of Health, the Minister of Education, the Minister of Employment, the Minister of Internal Affairs, the Minister of Economy and Finance, the Minister of Commerce,the Minister of Communication and Culture, the Minister of Youth and Sports ... etc..

In December 2012, the new Ambassador of the Republic of Djibouti in China, His Excellency Abdallah Abdillahi Miguil presented his Letters of Credence to President Hu Jintao.


2. Commercial Relations and Economic and Technological Cooperation

On the economic and commercial level, the two countries have signed agreements on economic and technical cooperation and trade arrangements. China has provided economic assistance to Djibouti since 1979 and has completed many construction projects such as the People’s Palace, the bronze monument of the Unknown Soldier, the Stadium Hassan Gouled, the Administration Building DFAIT, the new building of the CERD, the Diplomatic Institute, the Institute of DjiboutianArts, two sports complexes located in Tadjourah and Dikhil, the new hospital of Arta, two rural primary schools located respectively in Holl-Holl and Yoboki, the dialysis room of the Peltier General Hospital, etc..

In 2009, the volume of trade between the two countries reached 197 million US dollars, representing an increase of 55% over the same period of the previous year. The Chinese products exported to Djibouti are predominantly heavy equipment (port equipments, cranes), mechanical equipments, such as the production line for mineral water installed in Tadjoura, construction materials, automobiles, air conditioners and appliances.

In addition, more and more Djiboutian business men engage in trade with China. Many of them go to China each year to participate in Guangzhou fairs or other exhibitions and sales.

In the telecommunications sector, the governments of China and Djibouti signed a preferential loan in 2001 for a project of development of Djibouticommunications network with the cooperation between a Chinese company ZTE and Djibouti Telecom. Another Chinese company Huawei is also active on the market since 2005 to establish a mobile telecommunications network with the same partner Djibouti Telecom


3. Exchanges and Cooperation in Culture, Education and Health

China and Djibouti have led a friendly cooperation in the fields of culture, education and health. Since 1986, China started to provide scholarships for Djiboutian students. Currently, there are about 70 Djiboutian students of scholarship and approximately 200 private students studying in China.

In 2010, the Republic of Djibouti has participated actively in Shanghai World Expo by sending an important delegation headed by the Minister of Youth and Sports accompanied by an art troupe of nearly 30 persons who conducted the Djibouti Pavilion and the Africa Pavilion for 3 weeks.

Moreover, China began to send medical teams to Djibouti since 1980. At the moment, a Chinese medical team of 10 persons work in Djibouti and Arta.

Finally, due to the severe drought and the humanitarian crisis which has affected the region of the Horn of Africa in 2011, China has granted urgent humanitarian assistance of a total of 61 million yuans RMB.


4. Important Documents

Since May 1999, the two countries have signed over fifty most bilateral agreements relating to the implementation of social-economic projects. Each year, the two countries carry out for signature of a number of agreements or exchange of notes on economic cooperation and technical assistance.

  •  Joint communique on the establishment of the diplomatic relations between the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of Djibouti (January 1979).

  •  Agreement concerning the establishment of a mechanism for political consultations signed in China (August 2003)

  •  Agreement for reciprocal exemption of taxof a number of products on the markets of the two countries (2003)

  •     Agreement concerning the establishment of aneconomic and trade consultation mechanism between the two Ministries of Foreign Affairs (2006)

  •     Agreement on preferential tariffs between the two countries (2007)

  •  Agreement for establishing the Joint Ministerial Commission to expand and deepen the economic and trade cooperation (July 2012)

RELATIONS BILATERALES DJIBOUTI-CHINE

1. Les relations politiques

La République de Djibouti et la République Populaire de Chine ont signé le Communiqué établissant les relations diplomatiques le 8 Janvier 1979.

Les relations bilatérales entre les deux Pays progresse de manière constante et continue et la coopération amicale entre la Chine et Djibouti se développe dans d'heureuses conditions et s'avère fructueuse dans divers domaines depuis l'établissement de leurs relations diplomatiques le 8 janvier 1979.

Etroitement liés sur le plan politique, les deux pays maintiennent des échanges de visites de haut niveau et des contacts personnels fréquents. Les deux Pays se prêtent soutien et concours mutuel dans les affaires internationales, nouant ainsi une amitié profonde et une coopération fructueuse basée sur le principe du Gagnant-Gagnant pour le plus grand bénéfice de leurs peuples. La République de Djibouti s'en tient depuis toujours au principe d'une seul Chine et soutient la Réunification pacifique de la Chine.

Djibouti apporte son assistance et accorde des facilités aux missions d'escorte de la Marine chinoise au large du Golfe d'Aden et dans les eaux somaliennes.


Visites Bilatérales de Hautes Personnalités :

Visites importantes à Djibouti par les hauts fonctionnaires chinois sont les suivants: vice-Premier ministre Ji Pengfei (Septembre 1980), ministre de la Construction urbaine et rurale Rui Xingwen (Mars 1985), Vice-Ministre des Affaires étrangères Yang Fuchang (Août 1990), ministre des Sports Wu Shaozu (Juin 1993 ), vice-président de la Conférence consultative du peuple chinois politiques (CCPPC) Wang Zhaoguo (mai 1994), vice-Premier ministre et ministre des Affaires étrangères Qian Qichen (Janvier 1996), ministre adjoint du Commerce extérieur et de la Coopération économique Yang Wensheng (1998), vice-ministre des Affaires étrangères Ji Peiding (Février 1999), Du Tiehuan, commissaire politique du commandement de la région militaire de Beijing (Juin 2002), vice-président du Comité permanent de l'Assemblée populaire nationale (Juin 2006), et vice-ministre des Affaires étrangères Qiao Zonghuai (Décembre 2002), le Ministre des Affaires Etrangères Monsieur Li Zhaoxing en Janvier 2004 et le Vice Ministre des Affaires Etrangères Zhai Jun en 2009.

Son Excellence Monsieur Hassan Gouled Aptidon, Premier Président de la République de Djibouti a visité à de nombreuses reprises la Chine, il a visité la Chine en Décembre 1979, Mars 1991, Juillet 1994 et Août 1998. Son Excellence Monsieur Ismail Omar Guelleh, Président de la République a effectué deux visites officielles en Chine en 2001 et en Juillet 2012 en marge de la 5ème Conférence Ministérielle du Forum sur la Coopération Chine-Afrique. Cette dernière visite marque la ferme volonté des deux Pays d’élever leurs relations vers un Partenariat Stratégique. A noter également que le président Guelleh avait participé au Sommet de Beijing du Forum sur la Coopération Chine-Afrique en Novembre 2006.

A cet effet, les deux pays ont signé en Juillet 2012 un Accord instituant la Commission Mixte Ministérielle en vu d’élargir et approfondir encore davantage la coopération économique et commerciale,

L’ancien Premier Ministre Son Excellence Barkat Gourad Hamadou a effectué une visite officielle en Mai 1999 et le Premier Ministre Son Excellence Monsieur Dileita Mohamed Dileita a effectué une visite officielle en 2005. Il a également participé à la cérémonie d’ouverture des Jeux Olympique de Beijing en Aout 2008.

Le Président de l’Assemblée Nationale et le Chef d’Etat Major des Armées ont également effectués des visites officielles en Chine respectivement en février et juillet 2005.

L’ancien Ministre des Affaires Etrangères Son Excellence Monsieur Ali Abdi farah a visité la Chine en 2003 et l’actuel Ministre des Affaires Etrangères Son Excellence Mahmoud Ali Youssouf a quant à lui effectué une visite officielle en Chine en Décembre 2009.

Enfin le Président de l’Assemblée Nationale Son Excellence Monsieur Idriss Arnoud Ali a effectué une visite en Chine en Juillet 2010 en sa qualité de Secrétaire General du RPP.

De nombreux autres Hauts Responsables Djiboutiens ont également effectué des visites de travail en Chine ces dernières années tels que le Ministre de la Santé, le Ministre de l’Education, le Ministre de l’Emploi, le Ministre de l’Intérieur, le Ministre de l’Economie et des Finances, le Ministre du Commerce, le Ministre de la Communication et de la Culture, le Ministre de la Jeunesse et des Sports…etc.

Enfin, en Décembre 2012, le nouvel Ambassadeur de la République de Djibouti en Chine, Son Excellence Monsieur Abdallah Abdillahi Miguil a présenté ses Lettres de Créances au Président Hu Jintao.


2. Les relations commerciales et la coopération économique et technologique

Sur le plan économique et commercial, les deux pays ont signé des accords de coopération économique et technique et des accords du commerce. La Chine a apporté son aide économique à Djibouti depuis 1979 et a réalisé des projets de construction tels que le Palais du Peuple, le Monument de bronze du soldat inconnu, le Stade Hassan Gouled, le Bâtiment administratif du MAECI, le nouveau bâtiment du CERD, l’Institut Diplomatique, l’Institut Djiboutien des Arts, les deux complexes sportifs situés à Tadjourah et à Dikhil, le nouvel hôpital d’Arta, deux écoles fondamentales rurales situés respectivement à Holl-Holl et Yoboki et la salle de dialyse de l'Hôpital Général Peltier, etc.

En 2009, le volume du commerce entre les deux pays a atteint 197 millions de dollars américains, soit une augmentation de 55% par rapport à la même période de l'année précédente. Les produits chinois importés à Djibouti sont surtout des matériels lourds (équipement portuaires, grues), des équipements mécaniques tels qu'une chaîne de production pour l'eau minérale installée à Tadjourah, des matériaux de construction, des automobiles, des climatiseurs et de l’électroménager.

En outre, de plus en plus d’hommes d’Affaires Djiboutiens font du commerce avec la Chine. Beaucoup d'entre eux vont en Chine chaque année pour participer aux foires de Guangzhou ou d'autres expositions-ventes.

Dans le secteur des télécommunications, les gouvernements chinois et djiboutien ont signé en 2001 un accord du prêt préférentiel pour réaliser un projet de perfectionnement du réseau des communications de Djibouti avec la coopération entre la société chinoise ZTE et Djibouti Télécom. Une autre société chinoise HUAWEI est également présente sur le marché djiboutien depuis 2005 pour mettre en place un réseau de télécommunications mobiles avec le même partenaire djiboutien Djibouti Télécom.


3. Les échanges et la coopération dans les domaines de la culture, de l'éducation et de la santé

La Chine et Djibouti ont mené une coopération amicale dans le domaine de la culture, de l'éducation et de la santé. Depuis 1986, la Chine a commencé à fournir des bourses d'études pour les étudiants Djiboutiens. À l'heure actuelle, il y a près de 70 étudiants Djiboutiens boursiers et approximativement 200 étudiants privés qui étudient en Chine.

En 2010, la République de Djibouti a participé activement à l’Exposition Universelle de Shanghai avec l’envoi d’une importante délégation conduite par la Ministre de la Jeunesse et des Sports accompagnée par une troupe artistique de près de 30 personnes qui ont animé le Pavillon de Djibouti et le Pavillon Afrique durant 3 semaines.

Par ailleurs, depuis 1980, la Chine a commencé à envoyer des équipes médicales à Djibouti. À l'heure actuelle, une équipe médicale chinoise composée de 10 personnes travaille à Djibouti et à Arta.

Enfin, suite à la grande sécheresse et la crise humanitaire qui a touchée la région de la Corne de l’Afrique en 2011, la Chine a octroyé une assistance humanitaire d’urgence d’un montant total de 61 Millions de Yuans RMB.


4. Les documents importants

Depuis Mai 1999, nous avons signé plus d’une cinquante d’accords bilatéraux la plupart ayant trait à la mise en œuvre des projets socio-économiques. Chaque année les deux pays procèdent à la signature d’un certain nombre d’accords ou d’échange de notes relatifs à la coopération économique et l’assistance technique.

  •  Le communiqué conjoint sur l'établissement des relations diplomatiques entre la République populaire de Chine et la République de Djibouti (Janvier 1979).

  •  Accord concernant la mise en place d’un mécanisme de consultations politiques signé en Chine en août 2003

  •  Accord sur l’exonération mutuelle de taxes d’un certain nombre de produits sur les marchés des deux pays signé en 2003.

  •  L’accord de 2006 concernant la mise en place d’un mécanisme de consultations économiques et commerciale entre les deux ministères des affaires étrangères.

  •  L’accord de 2007 sur les tarifs préférentiels entre les deux pays.

  •  En Juillet 2012, Accord instituant la Commission Mixte Ministérielle en vu d’élargir et approfondir encore davantage la coopération économique et commerciale.